Thursday, May 9, 2013

The College Basketball Blog: 2012-2013 Horse Collar Awards

2012-2013 College Basketball Horse Collar Awards

Conference Player of the Year Awards (BCS)
ACC: Erick Green (Virginia Tech)
Big East: Russ Smith (Louisville)
Big Ten: Trey Burke (Michigan)
Big XII: Pierre Jackson (Baylor)
Pac-10: Arsalan Kazemi (Oregon)
SEC: Kentavious Caldwell-Pope (Georgia)

2012-2013 All-Horse Collar Team
(G) Trey Burke (Michigan)
(G) Kentavious Caldwell-Pope (Georgia)
(G) Victor Oladipo (Indiana)
(F) Doug McDermott (Creighton)
(F) Kelly Olynyk (Gonzaga)

National Awards
Player of the Year: Trey Burke (Michigan)
Defensive Player of the Year: Nerlens Noel (Kentucky)
Freshman Player of the Year: Nerlens Noel (Kentucky)
Coach of the Year: Gregg Marshall (Wichita State)
NCAA Tournament MVP: Russ Smith (Louisville)

Other Awards
Most Disappointing Team: Kentucky
Most Surprising Team: Florida Gulf Coast
Most Bizarre Moment: Kevin Ware’s leg bone breaks the skin
Biggest Shocker: Florida Gulf Coast over Georgetown in the First Round
Biggest Choke: Kansas against Michigan in the Regional Semifinals
Best Individual Performance: Luke Hancock vs. Michigan in the National Final
Best Game: Wichita State vs. Gonzaga in the Second Round
Worst Game: Michigan vs. Florida in the Regional Finals
Worst Moment: Kevin Ware suffers horrific leg injury
Best Moment: FGCU pulls off spectacular alley oop dunk in transition while trying to hold lead late against Georgetown in First Round upset
Most Pathetic Moment: Indiana’s sense of urgency never kicks in during loss to Syracuse in the Regional Semifinals

No comments: